Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc.

By-Laws | Exec Bd Briefs | E-mail Subscription | McCowen Award | Mentoring | CMP | Award Order | Grants
Executive Board | District Chairs | Repertoire & Standards Chairs
Calendar | Pre-All-State | Opus | All-State Jazz | Summer Convention & Symposium | Fall Symposium | Weston Noble
Northwest | North Central | Northeast | Central | East Central | Southwest | South Central | Southeast
About Sounding Board | Sounding Board Archive
Children | Community | Jr High/MS | High School | Worship | Jazz | Show | Youth & Student | 2-Yr College | College/Univ | Repertoire Lists

The Robert McCowen Award

Robert Melvin McCowen (1918–1965) was born in Waterloo, Iowa. He graduated from West High School (Waterloo) and received his B.A. degree in music from Iowa State Teachers College (Cedar Falls), was named to Who’s Who in Music in his senior year of college and began teaching elementary instrumental music in Waterloo after graduation. He enlisted in the U.S. Air Force at the beginning of World War II and was stationed in England as a 1st Lt. B-17 co-pilot. On his third mission he was shot down and walked through the French underground from north of Paris to Gibraltar, a distance of 1,000 miles — this took him four and one-half months. After the war he returned to Waterloo and began to teach at West High School, his alma mater.

He earned his M.A. degree from Northwestern University (Evanston, Illinois) in 1951. He was named Director of Choral Affairs at Iowa State University (Ames) in 1949. In 1950 he taught at Knox College (Galesburg, Illinios); in 1951 at Illinois Central (Macomb); and in 1952 returned to Iowa State where he remained until his death.

He served as district and state ACDA Chairman and was a charter member of ACDA. He directed the Iowa All-State and many other All-State festivals throughout the nation. He was in constant demand as a festival conductor, clinician and adjudicator. He conducted several summer music camps and was especially fond of the International Peace Gardens Camp. He had many articles published and several of his compositions were used in All-State festivals throughout the country.

At the time of his death, he was serving as the North Central Chairman of ACDA. He gave much to the state of Iowa and its musical activities. This unselfish dedication prompted the ICDA Executive Board to establish the Robert McCowen Award to be presented to the person who made outstanding contributions to choral music in the state.

Robert McCowen’s love for his work was obvious. The relationships he developed with students in the classroom and with professional colleagues were sincere. His music was his tool to serve mankind. His concern for choral music in the state of Iowa lives on, and it is for this reason, that ICDA chooses to honor its friends who carry the Robert McCowen flame for choral music, igniting the torch for all choral participants in Iowa, lighting the way not only for students, but also for professional colleagues.*

Recipients of the McCowen Award:

1967 E. Jane Ruby 1978 J. Eugene McKinley 1993 Lauretta Graetz
1968 Weston Noble 1981 Gordon Lamb 1994 Tom Janssen
1969 Daniel Moe 1985 Dale Grotenhuis 1995 Alan Hagen
1970 Francis Pyle 1986 Allen Lehl 1996 Everett Johnson
1971 Leo Grether 1988 Robert Davis 1997 Allen Koepke
1972 Sven Lekberg 1989 Jim Kimmel 1998 Robert Youngquist
1972 Charles Matheson 1990 Gloria Corbin 2000 Janiece Bergland
1973 Marvin Kelley 1991 Bruce Norris 2001 Allen Chapman
1976 James Fritschel 1992 Mark Lehmann 2001 Sandy Chapman

Download the Nomination Form. The deadline for submission is April 15, 2007.

* Taken from the presentaion speech on November 20, 1976, H. James Kimmel, ICDA.

Site Map | Contact Us | © 2006 Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc.